Skip to content

JETAA Singapore, New Friends and Reality Sinking In

June 16, 2014

By A Yagnya (JET 2014~, Toyama-ken, taken from here: http://iggyinjapan.wordpress.com/ with express permission from the lovely girl herself )

 

JETAA Japanese class

On 29th May 2014 (last thursday), I finally met some people from JETAA Singapore and fellow 2014 Singapore JETs at JCS. And what a lovely bunch of people they are!

We had a lesson about weddings, found out that a sempai was getting married that week, heard vows being spoken in Japanese, learnt how expensive weddings could be, talked about Chinese, Malay and Indian weddings and had so much fun. It was wonderful to meet so many people, with varying Japanese abilities and I learnt so much from everyone.

The kaypoh in me was also very satisfied to FINALLY meet people.

On a more personal note, it was great to know how everyone came from diverse backgrounds. Having interacted with mostly theatre people for so long, I’m psyched to finally expand the walls of my world through JET. : P

Through the JETAA, I’ve also been assigned 2 buddies (both weren’t placed in Toyama, but I’m plenty grateful for all the advice). Exchanging e-mails with them calmed a lot of my frazzled nerves and I’ve gotten a lot of really handy tips. I’ve also met (online) some JET bloggers from Toyama and a Singaporean JET online, and chatting with them has put me at ease.

The fears and questions haven’t disappeared.
I’m still terrified of which school I might get.
What if they hate me?
What if they don’t understand the concept of Vegetarianism?
What if there absolutely nothing for me in that place?
What if I fall really sick in the winter?
What if, what if and more what ifs.
But, life was never meant to be ruled by fear.

And it’s not just fears.
There’s so much excitement bubbling within me at this point.
A different landscape, a new language, fresh challenges, a chance at independence, and, best yet,
A hope for doors to open in the future. 

So, come what may, I’ve resolved to take it as a learning experience. And at least now, I feel a little bit more informed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

